Is it common to lose a few transplanted hairs at 7 months post-op?

I’m 7 months post-op, and whenever I apply rogaine foam, I noticed that 1 or 2 transplanted hairs will fall out. Is this a normal occurrence? I thought since the hairs had entered the anagen phase, they wouldn’t fall out for 2-6 years. Any help would be appreciated. 

are you sure they're not native hair?

if your sure they're transplanted, I've seen a few cases where this exact situation happens. They eventually grow back but it definitely is unexpected

Edited by hairlossPA

thanks for the reply. I’m pretty sure it’s transplanted hair because my native hair is much longer (over 6 inches). So, in your experience, even losing 1 or 2 transplanted hairs per day is unusual?

• Administrators

Can you post some pictures? 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

thanks for the reply, melvin.

photographs won’t capture the phenomenon, as the shed is rather light. as I mentioned, I only lose a few hairs during the rogaine application. thus, there hasn’t been a noticeable difference in appearance. I was just wondering if it’s normal to lose a few transplanted hairs throughout the day (as you would native hair). Or, alternatively, should I be concerned, given that the hairs follicles should be in the anagen phase?

thanks everyone!

16 minutes ago, hairlossPA said:

not sure if this is the same situation as you, but it was the one I was looking for: 

thanks for the info! I’ll definitely be keeping a close eye on that thread

5 hours ago, rhal22 said: