How many grafts would it take to restore my hair?

Based on my level of hairloss, how many grafts would I realistically need to restore my hairline and mid-scalp to around 40 grafts per cm sq? My vertex is still decent so I don't want to put grafts there. The redness is from SMP treatment a few years ago. I had it removed by laser almost 2 years ago but the pinkness is still there. My HT is going to cover it finally!

20200218_201246 (1).jpg

• Administrators

Depends, I would say around 4,500 -5,000, anticipate the crown being lost eventually. So, you may still need another procedure in the future, just keep that in mind.

• Like 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• Administrators
2 hours ago, CosmoKramer said:

If you go for a conservative hairline...then I agree with Melvin’s opinion.

This is true, I was thinking follow the outline of the hairline he has currently. Lowering it will definitely require way more grafts.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

View my thread

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

I agree with Melvin. I think 4.5k to 5k grafts would suffice. Are you on any meds? Have you had any consults?

• Like 1

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider.