Work done by Doctors vs Techs

I would like get some clarity on something - when researching a clinic, how important is it when deciding what the doctor does vs the techs?

I.e i know doctor should always do the strip, but don’t we want him to also do the incisions and placing the grafts? I’ve seen different things here from some of the more recommended doctors and want to better understand the nuances. Thanks!

• Like 1

• Administrators

I think it depends, some surgeons get great results with techs doing most of the work. That said, I prefer to have a surgeon perform critical aspects of the surgery. 

Creating the sites is critical, because that dictates the angle, depth and density of the procedure. Placing the grafts isn’t as critical, techs simply place the grafts in pre-made incisions.

• Like 2

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

There are legal issues as well. Certain states have laws that say only the doctor can score the skin. I think it is only a matter of time before all states will have similar laws. I do agree with Melvin that the recipient sites must be made by the doctor as they determine the angle and direction of the hair growth.

• Like 2

• 3 weeks later...