Is it true that some health insurance's will cover HT costs for transgenders?

• Administrators

I have never heard about this, and I work for a progressive health carrier. Insurance companies do not cover wigs for cancer patients. Most insurance carriers cover transgender hormonal therapy and gender re-assignment, but hair is not included. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

The best thing to do is to call your insurance carrier directly and ask.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

• Moderators

This is totally ridiculous. So a hair transplant is not covered for a man and it's not covered for a woman because it's cosmetic, but it's covered for a man who wants to be a woman because then it's necessary ????

This is one reason why insurance in the USA is so expensive. Because it's not insurance. Insurance is meant to protect you from unforseen things that may happen, not for things that you consciously choose to do to yourself. That is not insurance to decide to have a procedure done and have others pay for it. This goes for drug users and alcoholics as well. This is a choice. There should not be any insurance covering these things.

• Like 2

Al

Forum Moderator

(formerly BeHappy)