What research to do for HT?

Hi all,

I'm new here. Mid-50's, balding, living in the UK. I've been losing hair for a few years and and hope to get a HT (FUE) done this year. I've been occasionally reading this forum over the last couple of years, but to be honest have been procrastinating taking action. I realise doing your research before choosing the clinic is very important. And I've read about people researching "for years".

My question is - what exactly do I research? And does it really take years of research before deciding on the clinic? IMO, the main points that need to be addressed are :

- speak to a few surgeons and get an idea of how many hair they think are needed for the transplant. In theory they should all give similar figures. If one says 2,000, and another says 3,500 for a similar procedure then something isn't right. Ask about donor area - how many hair are available and how many will be used this time.

- find out how much each surgeon will charge

- read online reviews for each surgeon and maybe private message a client or two and get their feedback

- look at the logistics (can I really fly to another country 4000 miles away?)

I'm sure there is a LOT more to research than these basics. So, I welcome guidance and advice. 

PS - I'm planning on consulting with Dr Basinga, Dr Lupanzula (in person in London on 25th Jan) and maybe one or two others. Two years ago, Dr Feriduni gave me an online estimate of something like 30,000 Euros! I didn't reply back.

Thanks for the wonderful answer @transplantedphil. I didn't know about the NDA form to be signed. This explains why so many of the reviews I read are glowing references and how "the doctor is so understanding and all the staff made me feel so comfortable". It's like the Airbnb reviews where guests behave as if "I've made a friend for life with Sharon", but fail to mention the lack of hot water and coach roaches in the kitchen.