Does DHT really have anything to do with libido?

I had a thought today, im not a doctor or anything, this may sound stupid also. But lets think about how men change their hormone levels over time. DHT plays a huge role in puberty around developing sexual organs etc etc. But when puberty is over..Men, starting from their middle 20s, lose testosterone and have higher DHT levels. Wouldnt that mean your libido will be high too since your DHT levels are higher because testosterone is converting at higher rate to DHT? And how come the older you are, the lower your libido is? What if medications like propecia cause ED to some men because of something else and not DHT? Just a thought...

• Administrators

I think it depends on the person. In my opinion, DHT does affect libido. I think the body needs to have a certain order to be optimal. If you start messing with your endocrine system, you can suffer some serious consequences. But not everyone is the same and some people can operate normally.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Many doctors believe DHT is only needed at puberty as you have so eloquently put it.  Beyond that stage is more of a nuisance that can lead to cancer.  

DHT is the result of the breakdown of testosterone.  The more testosterone, the more DHT you have - (which leads to hair loss, by the way). I don't believe the conversion rate has anything to do with libido levels.