New Study Shows Long Office Hours May Cause Hair Loss

• Administrators

Have you guys heard about this new study which examined over 13K men over a 5 year period. They found that men who work longer hours are generally balder. What do you guys think is this just a correlation or causation? I'd love to hear your thoughts?

New Study Shows Long Office Hours May Cause Hair Loss

bald.jpg

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Thanks for sharing Melvin. Per the the article  you shared:

"Researchers say that it is likely due to stress and not enough downtime and work-life balance. 

Changes in hormone levels which occur during stress can negatively impact several areas on the body. Previous studies have revealed that stress can cause the immune system to attack the hair follicles on the scalp. This auto-immune condition is called alopecia areata. "

The primary stress hormone cortisol, has indeed been shown to cause hair loss. See:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27538002

I've seen this firsthand with many people who work stressful jobs or work long hours

My advice does not constitute a patient-physician relationship nor as medical advice and all medical questions/concerns should be addressed to your medical provider. 

17 minutes ago, Dr. Suhail Khokhar said:

"Researchers say that it is likely due to stress and not enough downtime and work-life balance.