How Young is Too Young For A Hair Transplant?

What Age is Too Young  

11 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

• Administrators

I myself have been dealing with hair loss for over a decade, it's crazy but there was a time when I considered having hair transplant when I was 22. I wanted to get that low hairline and look like I did when I was 18. Thankfully, I was scared to death about shock loss and that kept me away from surgery. Had I gotten surgery at 22 who know's where I'd be today, it's a scary thought. In my opinion, you shouldn't consider having surgery until you're at least 24-25. There are exceptions, but they are far and few in between. What do you guys think? Share your stories.

How Young is Too Young For Hair Transplant Surgery

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

The maturity level is important.  I think 18 is too young but it all depends on family history and other factors.I think most guys should try medical therapy to start with and see first what that is going to do, 2nd - to see if the patient is going to do the meds regularly.  If both happen, why not do transplants? The writing is on the wall.  The sooner they do it, the sooner they can keep their youth etc.....So after all is said and done....early 20's.

• Valued Contributor