Breaking The Negative Stigma Surrounding Hair Transplant Surgery

• Administrators

Becoming the moderator of this popular forum has taught me that no one is safe from shaming. I have had high-profile people message me asking me to delete their posts from over a decade ago. There is this sense of fear, that they would be discovered and viewed and perceived as weak. 

I had one person even say tell me that they were being blackmailed. It's absolutely insane the lengths that we go to, to conceal our surgeries. I used to be the same way. I have my face all over the place. I don't regret it at all. There is NOTHING WRONG WITH HAVING SURGERY! What are your guys thoughts. Will some of you join the fight?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I've heard that in some circles, hair transplants are viewed as a status symbol!  I can't remember where I heard this, I think it was a youtube comment.  They said something like some younger guys are wanting insanely dense hairlines so it actually looks like they had a procedure done. 

Just yesterday I told my older brother I was thinking about getting a HT.  He was pretty surprised.  I told him it would be the ballsiest (Most courageous) thing I've ever done.  He replied "the vainest".  I didn't expect that reply.  I guess I view it like how you described it another comment I just read  "...it's simply about keeping what you were born with".