Coming Clean About Having A Hair Transplant

• Administrators

For those of you who've had a hair transplant, when did you decide to come clean about having the procedure? Me personally, I was very secretive about the whole thing for a few years. I remember I didn't want anyone to find out and I was very embarrassed about the whole thing.

But then I figured you know what. How come society doesn't shame women for having breast augmentation or rhinoplasty. Hair transplants don't change anything, it's simply about keeping what you were born with. If more men were honest about their procedures, the social stigma and shame would go away. In fact, the no-brainer solution, if you have money would be to have a hair transplant. I'd love the communities thoughts on this.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

If I could have kept it a secret I probably would but it not very easy to hide! It did give me some nerves and anxiety but once I just came out with it I realised nobody really cares. There seems to be a lot less stigma with it these days partly due to social media personalities and some celebrity’s openly getting them.

Could have easily not said anything about mine and nobody would have guessed - despite my ultra red head. In the end, I was too curious and asked colleagues if they noticed a difference, and then had to tell them what was up. All reactions have been super positive, even from my rugby team where I had expected to be totally rinsed for doing this. Its a great conversation topic.