FUE Scars?

This question is mostly for guys who have (or know someone who's) had a hair transplant and ultimately ended up clean shaving their head anyway. One of the things that makes me hesitant about a HT is potentially losing all of my hair anyway, exhausting my donor, and then rocking a head full of visible scars for the remainder of my life. 

How visible are the scars? Do they attract any attention in public? Other than SMP, are there any other successful options in mitigating the visibility of the scars?

Any input is appreciated

• Administrators

If you ever plan on shaving your head my advice is to not get a hair transplant. Instead, shave your head and see if you like it. FUE is not scarless and anyone who tells you otherwise is not being truthful.

• Like 3

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

5 hours ago, Kvn said:

This question is mostly for guys who have (or know someone who's) had a hair transplant and ultimately ended up clean shaving their head anyway. One of the things that makes me hesitant about a HT is potentially losing all of my hair anyway, exhausting my donor, and then rocking a head full of visible scars for the remainder of my life. 

How visible are the scars? Do they attract any attention in public? Other than SMP, are there any other successful options in mitigating the visibility of the scars?

Any input is appreciated

This is honestly what has stopped me from pulling the trigger.

I've always worried that even if I get a HT, for one reason or another, it may fail - even if it's within a few years.