Should You Switcht To Dutasteride For Hair Loss

• Administrators

For those of you who switched from finasteride to dutasteride, did you notice an improvement or any differences? I would love to hear the communities input.

Should You Switch To Dutasteride For Hair Loss

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

1 hour ago, Melvin-Moderator said:

For those of you who switched from finasteride to dutasteride, did you notice an improvement or any differences? I would love to hear the communities input.

Should You Switch To Dutasteride For Hair Loss

Interesting topic.

I suppose it's a risk versus reward scenario.

Anecdotally, people who don't experience fin sides seem to be okay in switching to dut.

I didn't realise they can both increase the chance of certain prostate cancers - I thought they were initially used in prostate cancer prevention?

• Administrators
1 hour ago, Greg_Swanson said:

Interesting topic.

I suppose it's a risk versus reward scenario.

Anecdotally, people who don't experience fin sides seem to be okay in switching to dut.

I didn't realise they can both increase the chance of certain prostate cancers - I thought they were initially used in prostate cancer prevention?

Initially, that was the thought. It was going to be used as a cancer prevention drug. Unfortunately, they saw an increase in some aggressive cancers. Also, I think it's worth mentioning that prostate cancer grows from testosterone and these medications do not inhibit testosterone and some cases can even raise it.