How Many Can You Have Over A Liftime?

• Administrators

This question comes up time and time again. It's almost as prevalent as FUTvsFUE, and the argument sort of goes hand in hand. What do you guys think? I would love to hear the communities thoughts.

How Many Hair Transplants Can You Have Over A Lifetime

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Thanks for starting this topic. However I think your assumptions and calculations are a little off. It is very much case by case but the donor area of a norwood 6 is usually roughly similar to the area of bald scalp.

A norwood 6 donor could be 8cm x 32cm or 256cm2. Untouched average density of approx. 85FU/cm2 in donor. This gives a 21760FU. 50% would equal 10880 grafts. I think that's probably a little much but taking 40% would be 8704.

I have a large head and I have a norwood 6 pattern. I have had 6572 FU transplanted by FUE. I have at least 2500 more that can be transplanted and I can cut my hair to a bare blade and I can hardly make out the extractions. I have been very fortunate however. Numbers wise, I have probably only depleted my donor by a third. Skill of the team and good healing physiology are important of course.

In short I think you're under selling FUE slightly. I understand that some people will make the argument that the best hair from 5-7cm from the napeline and FUT can get it all. This of course is a consideration for weaker donors.

• Administrators