Validating FUE Expectations

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to check in with the helpful folks here for some advice as I start my hair restoration journey. I'm 52, although my hair loss began around 25. I think I'm now a NW6, although my hair loss/balding has been stable for the last 10 years or so. I've never taken any hair loss medication of any kind ever. I have been trimming (never liked the shaven look) for the last 10 years or so. These pictures are very recent.

I have been lurking around this forum for the last 5 years and never really gotten serious about it until now. I have also began researching FUE options and surgeons based in the US and in India. Most importantly I would like to get some real-life feedback from this forum and I think it will give me final boost I am looking for.  As you can see I have some hair left on my top, but my crown is completely empty.

I also came across the Scalp Micro Pigmentation and was very encouraged to see some of the results combined with FUE. I understand that I can't expect to have anything close to a NW2 again, but I would be satisfied with light-moderate density all over, at which time I could buzz it down and add SMP for additional volume. I would like to have a mature hair line and temple areas with light coverage on the crown.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am tired of my current look and would like to do everything I can to change it in a logical and sensible way.

Questions and advises I am looking for:

• Am I a Nor-wood 5 or 6?
  • I am looking for an age appropriate hairline so What can I expect from FUE in my current state?
  • Can I get a FUE without taking any medicines? what are the pros and Cons?
  • Your thoughts on combining FUE with SMP (may be a year later)
  • Inputs on surgeons who does all the procedures themselves vs. surgeons who let their technicians do most of the work
  • Setting expectations for long hair vs trimmed look with my situation