How Do You Know If You're Going Bald and What Are The Treatments?

• Administrators

What were the first signs of hair loss you guys noticed? Also, who was the first person to tell you that you were going bald? I will never forget the first time someone told me that my hairline was receding. I would love to hear the communities input and thoughts on the subject.

How Do You Know If You're Going Bald and What Are The Treatments?

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

When I first started going bald, I noticed it was spot forming in the back and I was very depressed. I tried Rogaine for a bit and it seem to be working. But fortunately, I bought into the hype and tried some alternative treatments that ended up causing me to lose not only my hard-earned cash but more of my hair. 

Anybody else? 

Bill

I guess I just noticed gradual temple recession, to the point that I was like, hang-on, has my hair always been like that?

Now it's at the point where it is pretty much making me depressed and super self-conscious, lol.

No one has really told me, other than my dermatologist, I always wear hats, beanies, and use long hair to disguise it - but that is getting very hard now. 

Treatments are fin and minoxidil, seemed to work for a while, but a recent shed has kind of taken away all the progress.