Will You Suffer From Shock Loss If You Have A Hair Transplant?

• Administrators

For those of you who have had hair transplants, did you guys suffer from shock loss? I would love to hear the communities input.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

On 4/25/2019 at 6:44 AM, Melvin-Moderator said:

For those of you who have had hair transplants, did you guys suffer from shock loss? I would love to hear the communities input.

It is normal for patients to suffer from a temporary shock loss after they go through the procedure. Even the shedding of the transplanted follicles could be termed as a form of shock loss. The hair follicles could become thinner or fall off. 

I suffered shock loss too. My donor area had also lost some surrounding hair for some time. However, the shedding has temporary.

We have also seen some patients who grew the hair directly without any shedding of the follicles. Also in some patients we have seen minimal shock loss in the donor area. But I think one must be prepared for the "ugly duckling phase" when one goes for a transplant.

Personal opinion according to what I have experienced and observed.

Official representative of Eugenix Hair Sciences

Dr. Arika Bansal & Dr. Pradeep Sethi

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5crlGyTac2hlU1gHneADzQ

I had 2 transplants in 2011 and 2018 with no shock loss.  First was FUT and 2nd FUE.

"Imagination frames events unknown in wild fantastic shapes of hideous ruin, and what it fears, creates." Hannah More

If wrong surgical protocol is used, yes, and the shockloss may not return.