Should you Have A Hair Transplant Without Propecia?

• Administrators

What do you guys think?

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

If you've shown the propensity to lose, you will continue losing hair.  If you are to the point of moving forward with a hair transplant it is because there is, perhaps, a great deal of loss.  So you move forward and have it done.  You forgo all the doctor discussed about medical therapy, including Propecia.  and say you worked the temporal points and the crown.  10 years later you'll look awesome with two horns worth of hair in the corners and an island worth of hair in the crown.

Offense and Defense.  That's what is all about.  Medical therapy, in this case is the defense you need to help retain the native hair.  And, if you do retain, then you can consider transplants.  It is questionable, if meds don't work, to consider moving forward with a transplant procedure. Why?  Because of the donor area.

The donor is very important. It is finite. You truly need to be judicious with your grafts.  Once gone, they will not replenish.  Typically, if you can retain any of the native hair you have. that will eventually be key as to what your results will be.

Fortunately there are therapies out there, other than Propecia that can help.  Rogaine, PRP, and laser.  These work in different ways and are thus synergistic.  But, if you do experience a side effect with any of them, do the others! But do something!

• Like 1

Finasteride is such a controversial topic.