Does FUE damage potential for future procedures?

mephesto

Does getting FUE damage the ability to harvest the maximum amount of grafts in the future?

I've read the claim that FUT preserves the donor zone while FUE causes fibrosis around the donor areas -- making it harder to harvest for future procedures.

Is there any truth to that?

Edited by mephesto

• Administrators

FUE does make it more difficult, but not impossible. If you plan on maximizing your donor always opt for strip first. That said, if you’ve already had FUE you can still have a strip. It will just make it more difficult for the cutters dissecting the strip.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

2 hours ago, Melvin-Moderator said:

FUE does make it more difficult, but not impossible. If you plan on maximizing your donor always opt for strip first. That said, if you’ve already had FUE you can still have a strip. It will just make it more difficult for the cutters dissecting the strip.

Thanks Melvin. Do you know if there's a general rule of how much less grafts you can get with FUE vs FUT?

• Administrators
1 hour ago, mephesto said:

Thanks Melvin. Do you know if there's a general rule of how much less grafts you can get with FUE vs FUT?

It really depends, some individuals may be able to get more through FUE than FUT and vice versa. However, both procedures combined can get about an extra 2,000 grafts, as opposed to separately.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.