Scarring from FUE ... how bad?

Hi guys,

I am mentally preparing myself to go for a fue HT this year and my latest concern is...will I be able to shave my hair down to zero without making the fue scars noticeable?

That is assuming that either the fue ht goes wrong or I keep loosing native hairs so therefore I'll have to have a shaved head.

What do you guys think?

thanks

• Administrators

If you plan on shaving to a zero guard forget about surgery altogether. There is no scarless procedure. Yes you will see scars at a zero guard.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Yes, the scars will be noticeable at a zero cut...although you could get SMP on the scars after you’ve completely healed after many months and camouflage them, downside to that is SMP can be pricey and will fade after some years and will need another go.

+1 to Melvin and Cosmo

They will show. How much depends on the punch size, the contrast between the color of your normal skin and your scar tissue, the contrast between your hair color and your scar tissue, and the total number of grafts. They can be very pronounced or in some cases very subtle. Most fall somewhere in between.

Good replies.