Top 3 Things That Every Hair Transplant Patient Should Know Before Surgery

• Administrators

What are your guys top 3? Knowing your hair loss will progress, you need some time off from work and you will likely need more than one hair transplant over the course of your life. I would love to hear what you guys think?

Top 3 Things That Every Hair Transplant Patient Should Know Before Surgery

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

These are definitely some important things for all patients to know before surgery. 

Some other frequent ones that come up during consultations: 

1) You will have some level of scarring regardless of how the procedure is performed. No hair transplant is "scarless" and you are unfortunately being set up for some level of disappointment if you are sold on this bill of goods. 

2) Follicles do not regenerate. Anything that is taken from the back is permanently displaced from one area to another and will not "regrow" in the donor. While on the subject of donor: remember that, in line with the above, the donor area is finite. You only have so much available and -- as Melvin correctly stated here -- hair loss is progressive and you may want more up the road. Use it wisely. And also remember that you can only use your own follicles. I think one of the most frequent questions I am asked during an initial consultation is whether or not we can take hair from other people. Unfortunately, at this time, we can only use follicles from your own body.