Minoxidil foam vs liquid

E39

Comparatively they should both do the same job but I have tried both and I tend to go with the liquid, the foam evaporates in your hair as opposed to making it to your scalp so you need to apply more of it, the liquid is messy and tends to run down the forehead so you need to catch it in time, in terms of brand I stick to rogaine (regaine here in New Zealand).

• Administrators

Liquid and Lipogaine 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

E, 

Good question. Here is what I typically gather from my patients: 

Anecdotally, patients report that the liquid is more effective. However, they also report increased redness, irritation, and dryness of the scalp. They also report that the liquid sometimes "runs" down the scalp. The foam (which does contain fewer of these potential irritants) seems to cause less irritation on the scalp, but people also report it is less effective (I typically hear this from people who switch from liquid to foam). And while they do not report the "running" issue, they do say that they foam sometimes makes styling more difficult. 

I personally believe the liquid is reportedly both more effective and irritating because it makes more contact with the scalp and absorbs better through the skin surface. However, more people seem to like the foam because it is less irritating to the scalp and a little easier to use. And, of course, it is still an effective way to deliver the medication. 

All brands should contain the same amount of the active ingredient (minoxidil 5%).