TOTAL newbie. So many questions.

I'm 46 and in excellent health and physical shape. I have what I guess is classic male pattern balding. Over the years my hair line has receded and thinned, and I have a very thin spot on top. I live in NYC and after a quick Google search I went to Bosley for a consultation. To be clear I had no intention of blindly using the first guy I saw, so this was more of a learning exercise. From what I read on this forum I should definitely not use Bosley (someone can explain why if you have time).

They told me that my "permanent donor area" was thick and healthy, but that the strip was on the narrow side, and for that reason they would recommend FUT over FUE for me, and that I would require somewhere in the range of 2,500 to 3,000 grafts. And then later on I could decide if I wanted another procedure based on how happy I was with the volume I had achieved. They said the plus sides of FUT are that it would be less expensive, and that there's actually a slightly higher success rate at the follicle level. I guess I don't really care much about the scar since I wear my hair in a way that it would be hidden.

So my first question is, does that all sound about right so far?

I plan to get another opinion, probably from Feller since I live close to his office. Assuming he says something similar, my next question really comes down to cost.

I have a close friend who flew to India to have his FUE done by A r v i n d  P o s w a l. To be honest when I first heard this I thought he was out of his mind. But after some research I guess the guy is like one of the top guys in the world and does a bunch of celebrity-types in India. So the question is... Is that a good idea? I don't want to say money isn't a concern, but I *could* afford the NYC prices if I had to. Obviously if I can fly to India and save 10k I'd probably do it as long as enough educated and experienced people say it's a safe, good idea.

Your comments are appreciated.

Edited by SixHouse