Jerry Cooley MD, 3694 FUT in 4K UltraHD Video

This patient is in his early 50’s and has type IV hair loss. We started finasteride and minoxidil and performed FUT 3,694 grafts and PRP/ACell. He is shown one year later. He noted that the results actually looked better at 8 months. When I questioned him about what happened, he confessed to using anabolic steroids about that time, which contained dihydrotestosterone! I counselled him that taking exogenous DHT will damage the hair and finasteride won’t help because it lowers your own DHT but does not block the DHT receptors.

I represent Dr. Jerry Cooley online. All opinions are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Dr. Cooley. I am not a doctor.

Learn more about Jerry Cooley MD and Hair Center in Charlotte, NC

For complimentary consultations with one of the leading hair transplant doctors worldwide please contact us here.

Hair Transplant Consultation With Jerry Cooley MD at HairCenter.com

10 hours ago, HairCenter said:

This patient is in his early 50’s and has type IV hair loss. We started finasteride and minoxidil and performed FUT 3,694 grafts and PRP/ACell. He is shown one year later. He noted that the results actually looked better at 8 months. When I questioned him about what happened, he confessed to using anabolic steroids about that time, which contained dihydrotestosterone! I counselled him that taking exogenous DHT will damage the hair and finasteride won’t help because it lowers your own DHT but does not block the DHT receptors.

Great results and work!

Question:

In regards to the exogenous DHT damage....was this patient putting his Transplanted hairs at any risk from taking the anabolic steroids he did due to the extra DHT ... or was the exogenous DHT nullifying what ever “protection” finasteride may have helped his Native hairs and that they had succumb to the extra DHT and that’s why he felt he had better results at 8months rather than 12?  

Thanks.