Spotting miniaturization

Hey all

Some questions that have crossed my mind...

- can a doctor determine whether a follicular unit shows signs of miniaturization/DHT before transplanting it? In other words can they look at the hairs during the operation and pick the best, healthiest looking follicular units ? 

- do miniaturized hairs usually grow in the same area of the scalp, and if so would harvesting ANY hair from that area present a risk ? Eg if you have a thinner area on the sides and the doctor harvests from that area, how likely is it that the transplanted grafts also show signs of miniaturization? 

• Administrators

When doctors are performing extractions they have on high magnification glasses, this enables them to choose the healthiest hair for transplantation. 

Not sure what you mean by the second question, if thinning hairs are extracted and transplanted, there is a risk of them thinning. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

24 minutes ago, home1212 said:

donor hairs used for transplantation are extracted from the "safe zone" on the back of the head where they are not susceptible to DHT and therefore should not miniaturize and die off ..  

They are also extracted from the side 

Going to a clinic with all the necessary tools is important I think. The best in the business have the high magnification microscopes and also magnifiers on their foreheads during the operation so they can extract the best grafts, I'd say this is especially so during an FUE with the top surgeons.