• Administrators

What kind of concealers do you guys use? Personally I recommend Caboki, I used to use Toppik, but it's too expensive. I have tried DermMatch which is good for the rain and it wont smear or run. However, the application process is time consuming. What do you guys think? i'd love to hear your thoughts.

Instant Full Head of Hair with Hair Loss Concealers

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

As a long-term user of concealers I'll say that concealers are great and have been a life-saver for me these last few years!

Here is my process:

1. Apply Dermatch to dry-ish scalp after washing hair

2. Allow hair and Dermatch to fully dry

3. Style and spray a bit of hairspray

4. Sprinkle some Toppik over the thinning area

5. Spray a bit more hairspray to keep the Toppik in place

I find that using the two products together provides a synergistic effect (i.e., one for lessening hair to scalp contrast while the other makes the individual hairs appear thicker).

Obviously this routine is a bit time consuming, but I only wash my hair 2-3 times a week--usually after running or playing basketball so it's really not too bad, and it takes maybe 10-15 min each time. I'll also top up on the Toppik on the off days to keep things looking good.

Takes a while to get a good balance without the concealer being obvious but definitely worth the effort if you can get it right!

I live off Caboki! 

• Like 1

1st Procedure, Oct. 2012 - 1,704 grafts FUT w/Dr. True

2nd Procedure, Sept. 2015 - 2500 grafts FUE w/Dr. Vories