How Did You Guys Deal With Hair Loss Psychologically?

• Administrators

Hey Guys,

I want to get some input from the community on how you dealt and felt about your hair loss. I remember the first time one of my friends teased me about having a receded hairline when I was 21 years old. I'll never forget going to the bathroom to examine my hairline and taking a picture of it on my crappy flip phone. I felt total despair, a terrible sudden sense of panic came over me. It was true!! I was going bald. Even though that same night I gathered around friends at a party, I felt alone and empty. I examined all of my friends hairlines and none of them had any hair loss. I felt robbed of my youth. I'm glad to report that my story had a happy ending, thanks to this community. Let's hear some stories guys.

The Psychological and Emotional Impact of Hair Loss

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I still can’t  believe I’m balding .. two years Ago at 37 years old .. I was still dating girls in their mid twenties .. my hair was dense and beautiful with blonde highlights , no one could tell I was in my 30’s .. I always get carded for beer n cigarrettes . .. I had a lot of confidence in my looks .. now not so much..... starting to feel my age , physically n mentally .. 

During my twenties and thirties I withdrew socially a great deal due to my hair loss. Looking back it saddens me that I was 'robbed' of so many good times during those years due to my low self esteem because of it.