Do You Guys Feel A Difference Between Generic and Brand Name Propecia?

Melvin- Admin

• Administrators

I have heard so many stories about how some guys started losing so much hair after switching to generic finasteride. However, the brand name and the generic should contain the same amount of the active ingredient, the only difference are inactive ingredients binding the tablet. What do you guys think have any of you noticed a difference?

Is There A Difference Between Generic Finasteride And Propecia

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

I find it so bizarre that so many people have had problems with generic finasteride when he acted in the Radion is the same in both Propecia and finasteride. And the quality is the same or at least it supposed to be. I suppose it could be something in the in active ingredients that could be blocking efficacy of the finasteride but it doesn’t seem that anybody knows.  

I love to hear some input from somebody who feels generic finasteride is not as effective for them personally and why.  

Thoughts? 

Best wishes,

Bill

I lost a huge amount of ground when I switched to generic. I presumed that my body was just becoming more tolerant to finasteride but realised that I had lost more hair since switching and switched back to Propecia and since then I would say I’ve improved somewhat again.