Opinion needed on transplant result for Norwood 5

I am in early 40s, South Asian Indian male with Nordwood 5 loss, programmed to reach Norwood 6. I have been balding for last 15 years now. Started with the crown, then front. I am strongly considering getting a transplant from Dr Gabel@Portland. I have done lot of research, read up various threads. 

Doctor has suggested frontal restoration. Online research and Doctor’s words indicate there should be a dramatic improvement. Dr won’t go into additional detail. I would love to get a more quantified assessment. I wish if the Doctor could provide an after image showing the expected improvement. I understand there is always risk and gotchas. It would help clients if they know what is the best case scenario (visually) and caveats.

For example, after the surgery would my frontal hairline resemble what it was 10 years ago (even then front had receded) as an example? Or would it be broader and less dense? I have attached 3 pictures – showing the current hairline, donor area. And a pic from 2008 (10 years ago) – would the hairline look like this after transplant?

Please share your inputs. Thanks in advance.

2018 Hairline 1.jpg

DonorArea.jpg

Expected Outcome.jpg

• Administrators

Welcome to the forum RJ,

Let me post some YouTube videos for you, with some South Asian men with fantastic results. Actually, the majority of South Asian men possess fantastic hair thickness and density. @harin is a member who was a Norwood 6/7 with great results. @Shera I believe was around a Norwood 4/5 with fantastic results.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.