Hair Transplant Surgery and the Lateral Slit Technique

Melvin- Admin

• Administrators

Hey Guys,

I wanted to share this article with you guys, the lateral slit technique has refined hair restoration.

I encourage everyone to read this article and share with others.

Hair Transplant Surgery and the Lateral Slit Technique

• Thanks 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Melvin,

Thanks for posting this article. I know there’s been some debate related to whether or not coronal or sagittal incisions produce more natural looking results. I’ve personally spoken to hair transplant surgeons that use both and  hav even seen a side-by-side comparison on the same scalp whereas 1/2 of the scalp was performed using the lateral foot technique and the other was performed using sagittal incisions.   Frankly, I’m not so sure there is a significant difference between the two. It’s possible that the lateral slit technique which uses coronal incisions allows for slightly more dense packing when appropriate for the patient, but I haven’t seen any real significant difference related to growth when it comes to either technique. As long as the surgeon is skilled and experienced, either technique can produce outstanding results.

Other thoughts?

Bill

4 hours ago, Bill - Managing Publisher said:

Melvin,