2 questions

one, when you say transplated hair doesn't shed you mean that it acts like the hair in the donor area? some hairs will shed but others will grow again instead?

second, is every pimple that pops up in the scalp suggesting of hair that about to grow?

Edited by wheretogo

• Administrators

Who says transplanted hairs dont shed? Every single hair on your scalp goes through a life cycle. The anagen (growth) phase, Categen (transitional) phase and Telogen (rest) phase. 

Pimples are a good indicator that hairs are trying to sprout. However, that doesn’t mean it is always the case. There could be an infection causing pimples called folliculitis. 

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

The subject of shedding hair comes up frequently. To most in the industry, when discussing the subject, they'll be quick to point out that there are two types of loss.  The hair that you see in the shower, comb, etc.....this is normal.  Farther, they'll explain that 100 hairs a day is normal.  Simply, and in laymen terms, the follicle gets tired and needs a resting period.  After X amount of time, the hair will return.  And you will not shed all hair at one time.  It is random.  Some one day, some the next day, etc. To me this is shedding.

The second type of loss is the one you don't see.  Hair dissipates and miniaturized. Eventually it is hair you can hardly see and does not seem to grow.  Eventually this hair disappears.  This is hair loss.

Now. let's address the two questions you have,