What causes hair loss?

Basketball

Why does MPB occur often in men and not women?

Why does hair from the back of the head not fall off when transplanted in front where native hair has fallen off?

Is DHT a cause? Why would it only affect native hair on top but not transplanted hair or hair in back?

• Administrators

The short answer is genetics, but the actual mechanism that triggers hair loss is hormonal. I encourage you to read this article as it has valuable information.

What Causes Hair Loss?

• Thanks 1

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

• 3 months later...

Hormonal changes related with pregnancy, labor, stopping the utilization of conception prevention pills, and menopause can cause impermanent male pattern baldness. Therapeutic conditions that can cause male pattern baldness incorporate thyroid illness, alopecia areata (an immune system sickness that assaults hair follicles), and scalp diseases like ringworm.

Edited by adamwillams

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...