Propecia and having kids

What’s the rule regarding taking propecia and trying to have kids. My HT surgeon said to stop 1 month before and then use protection once pregnant. I’ve ready so many different views on this topic. Any thoughts from drs or anyone else with experience ?

thanx

If you read what Merck has published, you will find that the apparent risk is to females handling the drug before, during, and after pregnancy.

To my understanding,  a test using rhesus monkeys was conducted and when the males were given low dose finasteride, it had no negative impact regarding conception to the female nor any defects to the fetus.

Gillenator

Independent Patient Advocate

I am not a physician and not employed by any doctor/clinic. My opinions are not medical advice, but are my own views which you read at your own risk.

Supporting Physicians: Dr. Robert Dorin: The Hairloss Doctors in New York, NY

• 2 weeks later...

As a hospital pharmacist, I researched this extensively.  I have now been on propecia for 10 years and have 2 boys. 

There is a theoretical risk that finasteride in semen could affect the development of a male foetus.  However, the amounts are extremely small or even undetectable. Therefore, I decided to continue to take it during conception then use condoms as soon as we had a positive pregnancy test. 

From memory, the sexual organs are formed between week 8 and 15, so if you use condoms as soon as you confirm pregnancy it should be fine. 

However, this is a decision that only you can make. Best of luck. 

Propecia since July 2008

2201 Grafts with Dr Lorenzo on 19.10.22 - See my write up here:

• Administrators
2 minutes ago, splitting hairs said:

As a hospital pharmacist, I researched this extensively.  I have now been on propecia for 10 years and have 2 boys.