FUE harvesting

lakes9925

When it comes to harvesting FUE which techniques causes the least amount of trama on the scalp (helping you heal faster) and which doctors use this technique to harvest from your donor area?

Thanks in advance, hope to hear opinion from Melvin and Sean.

• Thanks 1

• Administrators

Some may say manual cause less trauma, but I don’t think that’s true, I think manual or motorized both tools score the skin and create scars. The size of the punch will determine the size of the punch scar, nevertheless the only way to avoid trauma to the scalp is to avoid surgery. Because there is no tool that will avoid trauma, with FUE you’re removing thousands of punch size tissue. It is inevitable that this creates trauma to the scalp. 

This is why surgeons want patients to have FUT first, because FUE causes subdermal scarring. With that’s said, both harvesting techniques cause scalp trauma it is fundamentally inevitable with surgery.  

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

The skill of the physician and their care to use the proper sized punches is what it all comes down to, each procedure is a custom job and should be treated as such because different skin types and hair types require dfferent tools.

I would be weary of ever going to a physician that does only FUE, because their treatment options are limited, and there's a risk they have not invested in the microscopes that FUT surgeons use and are still very helpful in examining and prepping FUE grafts before placement.