Natural Hair Whorl or Start of Hair loss?

• Administrators

It looks like a natural whirl. However, it may be the beginning stages of hair loss. Generally, if you’re noticing it l, it’s because someone has pointed it out or you’ve just noticed. I was your age when I first noticed hair loss, I would recommend consulting with a hair transplant surgeon to diagnose whether or not you have Male Pattern Baldness(MPB). You can find surgeons here https://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/Consult-a-Physician/hair-loss-doctors.asp

Remember this is only to diagnose whether you have MPB, if you do your best course of action would be medication rogaine and propecia.

I’m a paid admin for Hair Transplant Network. I do not receive any compensation from any clinic. My comments are not medical advice.

Check out my final hair transplant and topical dutasteride journey

View my thread

Topical dutasteride journey 

Melvin- Managing Publisher and Forum Moderator for the Hair Transplant Network, the Coalition Hair Loss Learning Center, and the Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

Follow our Social Media: Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin, and YouTube.

Difficult to say in pictures, but cowlicks and whirls often make a little scalp visible, keep an eye on it, perhaps ask a dermatologist to examine it and give you a prescription for finasteride/ propecia if you're concerned.

The drug is a near silver bullet for preventing hair loss in the crown for many users.

Hair loss patient and transplant veteran. Once a Norwood 3A.

Received 2,700 grafts with coalition doctor on 8/13/2010

Received 2,380 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 9/30/2011

Received 1,820 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 7/28/2016

It does look like a natural whirl, my 8 year old has the same pattern. But as mentioned, monitor it taking pictures over time and comparing. if you notice any changes for the worse then take the medication advice above.