My Journey with Finasteride

Cheddar

I have been experiencing hair loss for the last 3 years and I have been struggling with the idea of using Finasteride to treat my thinning hair. I’m in my late 30’s and not ready to go bald. I am experiencing diffused thinning and according to a few hair transplant doctors I have seen in person, l am an “ideal” candidate for Finasteride.

Like many of you, I have been doing research on Finasteride (for a few years) and have come across many of the success and horror stories. I am not prepared to lose any more hair, so despite my fears of side effects and the risk of “PFS”, I have decided to fill my prescription and start on Finasteride.

5mg generic Finasteride cut 1/4 daily (1.25mg)

First dose Nov 26, 2017

I will keep a diary of my progress in this thread with the hope of being able to help anyone else who may be struggling with the idea of taking Finasteride. I will give honest and unbiased feedback, and possibly before and after photos depending on how I progress. This forum has been a great resource for me over the years, so this is my way of giving back.

I am excited by the prospect of halting my hair loss and hopefully regaining some density, so here we go!

Day 3: So far, no noticeable side effects or changes of any sort. Feeling nervous and excited.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Give it a go, the "horror" stores are usually people with an agenda, all the effects are reversible by discontinuing use of the medication, and they happen to an outlier of people in the first place.

Hair loss patient and transplant veteran. Once a Norwood 3A.

Received 2,700 grafts with coalition doctor on 8/13/2010

Received 2,380 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 9/30/2011

Received 1,820 grafts with Dr. Steven Gabel on 7/28/2016

Just want to encourage you to take this hair loss medication under the advice and counsel of a licensed physician who treats hair loss.