Upcoming FUT + PRP procedure with Dr. Cooley

My hair loss started when I was 17. I'm 32 now. I can remember coming out of the showers after gym and after sports in high school and having friends bust on me about my thinning hair. I've fought a long, hard fight and only progressed to about an NW3V mostly because of guidance I've found online through these forums. Cost-affordable treatments like Nizoral, finasteride, and minoxidil were a blessing when I was a broke student and buying products with whatever spare cash I could scrounge together.

But I'm older now and have a good career and stable finances. I decided about two months ago that it's time to take the plunge with an HT. I called Dr. Cooley's office and had a phone consult, liked what I heard, and scheduled an FUT for 3,000 grafts and PRP. My procedure is in two weeks.

I'm looking forward to it. Though, I have to admit, I'm somewhat nervous about three things. First, I'm just generally nervous about the procedure. I have a high pain tolerance, but I don't like needles, and I have fainted from giving blood before. Second, I have to return to work five days after the procedure. I'm worried there will be visible signs from the procedure - e.g. an "indent" where the scar is, shockloss, scabs, etc. I absolutely have to be back at work six days later, so I may need to come up with a cover story for why my hair is patchy or a scar is visible. (i.e. had to get stitches because of a sports injury or something along those lines). My third concern is that I am a very active person. I play sports, lift weights, etc. I absolutely cannot take more than one week off from being active. I will go nuts.

Can anyone help assuage some of these concerns and give me some mollification?

Other than that, I am looking forward to it. I have realistic expectations about timelines for regrowth and coverage given my pattern of balding. I will try to update this post and/or my web log with pictures.