Hairline FUE with Dr Bhatti Nov 2015

jamesaus

Hello all,

Also a long time lurker on this forum. Creating this thread to share my HT experience with you all

About me

I am 26 years old. Final year medical student in Australia. First noticed temple hairline recession at 21 years old, got worse between 21-23, and has been stable for the past few years on finasteride 1mg daily. I have thick hair behind the recession and its therefore well disgused; some people don't know I've had recession at all, but its probably a Norwood III. Its bothered me for some time, and me feeling has been I'll either do something about it now, or never. I say that because once I qualify as a doctor I'll be pursuing surgical training and doubt I'll have the time to pursue this again. So I decided, on my final university holidays, to take the plunge and get it sorted. I have approximately 2 months before I need to be back on the wards, so it gives me time to recover and hopefully the procedure will not be so obvious at that stage

Choice of surgeon

Cost was a limiting factor for me. I am a student still, so I can't afford the Australian surgeons ($8-12 AUD/graft FUE) and their reputation/results is lacking. I also wanted FUE as I wear my hair quite short on the back and sides (like number 1 short) Looking overseas, there were several potential options, but I thought Dr Bhatti more recent results were very good and his price was competitive. I also liked his manner on the forums. He strikes me as an honest surgeon who consistently seeks to improve and better his practice. His reputation on this board is good, and his cost was within my budget, so I went ahead and contacted him. He provided an estimate of about 2000 grafts which works out at about $4000 AUD.

Depature to India

It was all a bit whirlwind as I'd organised for November 21st only a month in advance. Then I had exams at university, and left just a few days after for India. Not much time to think about the upcoming HT!