FUE vs FUT

Yeah, read the forum. There's a lot here on the subject.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Oh no ....

Maybe we should make some sticky threads on the subject

Until that time, however, I'll just share the following:

Both are valid procedures. It's important to figure out what your goals are, discuss these with trusted doctors, and pick the technique that best fits your goals.

IN GENERAL, FUE has lower growth yield compared to strip. You will hear a lot of arguments as to how much, and how much of a difference it makes, but it's pretty well accepted. FUE also causes subcutaneous (under the skin) scarring in the donor region which can complicate future procedures. Strip is also more consistent -- in general -- compared to FUE. I also think FUE hairs can sometimes appear more wiry or kinky compared to strip hairs. Now, the caveat here is that strip has the strip scar. Period.

So, to summarize: more consistent rate of success with higher growth yield, softer hair AND a linear scar versus more variable outcomes without the linear scar.

My whole mantra is "doing the right procedure on the right patient."

Are you a 25 year old guy who just wants to fill in his temple recession a little bit to sport a slick, retro undercut? If so, FUE may be a better choice. Are you kind of on the fence about surgical hair restoration -- but want to give it a shot -- and wouldn't be opposed to buzzing down completely ("retreat" as it's sometimes called here) if you didn't like the results? If so, then FUE may be a better choice.