Dr. Jean Devroye: Managing Crown Hair Loss through Hair Transplant Surgery

Recently, Coalition hair transplant surgeon Dr. Jean Devroye of Brussels, Belgium authored an expert paper on important considerations when planning and carrying out surgical hair restoration on a balding crown. We've published his article on our Hair Loss Q&A Blog.

If you're interested in crown restoration or just want to learn more about how hair transplant surgeons plan and carry out crown transplants, we invite you to read Dr. Devroye's article.

Managing Crown Hair Loss through Hair Transplant Surgery

Edited by David - TakingThePlunge

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

I think virtually all patients are better off putting their finite donor grafts in the front of the hair.

It almost doesn't matter how bald the patient is. Even if he is only a Norwood 2 (in the front) with major vertex balding, he is still better off filling the front up to make that part a Norwood 1. No one cares what the top of your head looks like, and no one will see it unless they are an NBA player.

The vast majority of HT patients are much higher than a Norwood 2, and for them it is even a clearer no brainer not to waste grafts on the vortex.

I think virtually all patients are better off putting their finite donor grafts in the front of the hair.

It almost doesn't matter how bald the patient is. Even if he is only a Norwood 2 (in the front) with major vertex balding, he is still better off filling the front up to make that part a Norwood 1. No one cares what the top of your head looks like, and no one will see it unless they are an NBA player.

The vast majority of HT patients are much higher than a Norwood 2, and for them it is even a clearer no brainer not to waste grafts on the vortex.