I'm new at this...some advice please

I'm so thankful to have found this site. All the research I've been doing on the internet over the past few days was starting to make my head spin, but everything here is so well organized.

I'm glad I came across this site before scheduling a consult here in Western Pa, especially after seeing the info posted about places like nu/hart, Bosley, Dr. Brandy, etc. Looks like I'm gonna have to travel a little. I'm going to look into Dr. Lindsey and Dr. Haber, as well as some of the doctors mentioned in NYC and Canada. I can't travel too far.

Money is of great concern, and it looks like I have 10k right now to put into this venture. I don't mind if I'm left with a small bald crown area, which runs in my family on mother's side, but everyone else on both sides of my family retained full hairlines throughout their 60's. I'm 45. I don't even mind if I'm left with a slightly receeding hairline, or receeding temples, but would just like to have a strong hairline again, and no scalp showing through from my hairline to front of crown area.

I really need to have some idea what I'm getting into financially before I even take a trip for a consult.

My temples started receeding at age 28, but still had lots of hair on top. At age 35-40 I could still grow my hair longish and it didn't look like I was balding, but now my only options are a buzz cut or a transplant. My hair is thick from the back of my crown to my neck, so I think I have a lot of donor area.

I'm thinkin' that I'm about a stage V or VA and need somewhere between 2000-4000 grafts, but am really not sure. And so many other things to consider. FUT, FUE, single or multiple sittings, and some "patent pending" methods advertised that make me skeptical.

I hope it is proper to ask here if this seems viable for around 10k, as well as your opinion on what procedure works best while being at least somewhat cost effective. I'm gonna stick with the docs recommended on this site.