Post-op recipient area appearance - Dr. Panine

I've noticed with a couple of doctors that their post-op pics of patients' recipient areas are very clean. In other words, there is no blood to be seen, and the trauma looks to be much less than many other doctors. Dr. Panine's patients look this way, and I'm wondering why that is? Are his incisions smaller? Does he have some kind of wash/rinse after surgery to get his patients to look this way?

Also, I'm wondering if this could positively affect how many grafts survive?

Not sure and good question. Could it be smaller incisions? More epi?

Not sure, but many doctors seem to be getting cleaner and cleaner post op.

I am an online representative for Dr. Raymond Konior who is an elite member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians.

View Dr. Konior's Website

View Spanker's Website

I am not a medical professional and my opinions should not be taken as medical advice.

Bigonefive –

The cleaner appearance of my immediate post-op photos is directly correlated to three factors that I work very hard to control during surgery.

The size of the grafts or follicular units and the size of the recipient sites have to closely match in order to minimize the “wobble” effect generated when a graft is too small for the recipient site in which it is placed. The size differential, when too large allows for extravasation of blood. When you see this you are witnessing the aftermath of the “wobble” of the graft in the recipient site. Reducing or eliminating the mismatch between the size of a graft and the site in which it is placed requires a high degree of skill, patience and experience. If any one of these items is missing the result will be sub-prime and the patient will not get the best results possible.