How many grefts do I need do you think?

Hi I'm a 23 years old guy and I've been losing my hair for almost 6 years.My hair loss is going on and my hair is thinning on top and especially on temples.I want to have an hair transplant on temples but I've no idea how many grefts required to cover up temples.İs there anybody who an tell me how many grafts are required to cover up my open area.Thanks in advance for your help.

Edited by topgun1111

Hi Topgun1111,

The problem you have here is that if you fill the bald areas with the transplanted hairs from the back of your head, they will not be as susceptible to the effects of DHT as the existing native hairs you have remaining at the moment.

So, in short.. the areas could be filled, but as you continue to loose the rest of the hair though natural progression, it will create patches where the hairs were transplanted.

My suggestion (others may disagree) would be to have those area filled with medium density, then have other hairs transplanted in between your existing native hairs (often called dense packing). That way, you will not thin out too much in the non bald areas over time and should avoid the patchiness.

In total, i would say 3,500- 4000 grafts to fill the bald parts and dense pack at least the front half of the scalp. You appear to have good donor supply so it would be achievable.

2800 FUE, Istanbul

I believe the recommended course here would be to start on propecia and minoxidil and see where you are in a year or two. If it stablises and maybe regrows some hair you could go for the HT. Take the meds and start saving just incase!

I lost a lot of hair then took propecia and minoxidil since March 2010, I am now one week post op after surgery......that tends to be the path people take as without the meds your native hair will continue to fall out.

2,000 grafts FUT Dr. Feller, July 27th 2012. 23 years old at the time. Excellent result. Need crown sorted eventually but concealer works well for now.