FUE vs FUT

2hillpark

Is it possible to restore a hairline using only FUE.

I keep getting told that to restore a hairline you must have a FUT transplant and that FUE is more for thikening up as opposed to creating a new hairline.

Just looking for some thoughts or opinions on this matter would be greatly appreiated as I normally ut my hnair with a grade 3 around the sides and bak whih would obviously show a FUT scar very visibly.

Any thoughts would be appreiated.

You can certainly restore hairlines with FUE, in fact it's quite common. Many people decide to go with the FUE route if it's a small hairline correction or even a larger one. You can go either way, sometimes if it's a larger case it may be more efficient to use FUT. The scar from FUT shouldn't be very visible, it should only be somewhat noticeable if it's shaved to a number #2 guard or shorter.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

A frontal hairline could be restored using FUE only. Choosing a doctor with enough experience with FUE and obtains a good yield is the hard part though.

Is there any in the UK?

From my limited knowledge there are no really good hair transplant surgeons(FUT or FUE) in the UK.... You would have to travel abroad. Brussels(Bisanga), Madrid(Lorenzo), Toronto(H&W), Ottawa(Rahal), New York(Feller) etc.

I have heard good things about Dr Rogers in the UK.

I would probably be looking at 1500 - 2000 grafts.

I've heard some bad things about Dr Rogers!

You're better off jumping on the Eurostar for a 2hr train journey to Belgium. There you will find Drs Feriduni, Bisanga and De Reys.

4,312 FUT grafts (7,676 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - August 2013

1,145 FUE grafts (3,152 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - August 2018

763 FUE grafts (2,094 hairs) with Ray Konior, MD - January 2020

Proscar 1.25mg every 3rd day