Can you lift weights a month after FUT, or will it make the scar worse?

This is a subject where you'll hear different answers about what time is best. Personally I believe everyone is different in terms of which time is best because everyone's scalp laxity is different. If you are still feeling tightness in the scar area then I would recommend giving it a few more weeks. For many people one month is enough time, but sometimes it's best to wait around 2 months with heavy weights. Also you can tell if you feel discomfort and extra tension in the back of your head while working out, so that could be your gauge. Use your best judgement.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

I would say that's too early to be doing weight lifting. Returning to jogging and cardio is ok once the grafts are secure, but you do risk having the scar stretch that early. I would say 2 weeks at the earliest. Again like I said you'll hear many different answers.

I am a consultant for Dr. True and Dr. Dorin. These opinions are my own.

Dr. Robert True and Dr. Robert Dorin are members of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

• 3 weeks later...

If you value your surgery and hair, give your scalp time to heal. Remember, doing weights will release testosterone and cortisol which is a stress hormone that helps release amino acids that rebuild your muscles but may also rob your body of skin healing nutrition. I would say concentrate on a good nutritional supplement for skin healing and get your Doc. to check the scar before you go into the gym and hit the big weights again. After all, you value your hair and a couple of months nutritional rest doesn`t diminish your muscle sets to much.

I get nervous when I hear such wildly divergent views: 7 days vs. 2 months+ .

I checked your profile - sorry! - but you haven't had it done yet, right?