Dr. Alexander Review - Phoenix, AZ

drcpa

All,

I took the plunge and received a hair transplant from Dr. Alexander from Biltmore Surgical Hair Restoration yesterday. My experience was very positive, and I'll be sure to post the before and after pictures shortly (and will update the post as the months progress).

I turn 30 in a few weeks and thought this would be a great present to myself. I’ve been balding for about 7 years now and although I’ve tried Rogaine and Propecia I don’t think I gave them enough of a chance. In hindsight I wish I would have started using Rogaine and Propecia religiously when I first started to notice the hair loss as I’ll be doing it going forward to maintain the hair that I have left.

I ended up receiving 2850 grafts, and can't wait for the results! Below is a summary of how the day went:

7:30am - Arrived at his clinic (I live 8 blocks away so it was quite convenient).

8:00am - My girlfriend peppered Dr. Alexander with a bunch of questions, which he answered, and put any concerns she had to rest.

8:30am - Dr. Alexander goes through the procedure with me again in great detail, offers me a Xanex, which I kindly accept, and starts outlining the hairline on my head. Like a true artist he spent a decent amount of time drawing, erasing and redrawing my new hairline until he was happy with it. He showed me the lines, I asked a few questions (i.e. why aren't the lines straight, etc) and we were off to the operating room.

9:00am - The operating room was very clean and he stressed that he treated the procedure like it was open heart or brain surgery. Dr. Alexander used to be a general surgeon (20+ years of experience) and this was evident given the amount of sterile drapes that were placed all around me and the donor area. After I was all taped up, he started numbing up my scalp. My pain tolerance is fairly low, so I found this part to be a bit painful. I would estimate he had to give me about a dozen or so small shots around the donor area.