Jump to content
craigd40

Booked in for surgery in London

Recommended Posts

Hi,

 

Im very new to this but decided to take the plunge and go for a hair transplant in London.

 

I was wondering if anyone had heard of The London Hair Transplant Clinic?

 

I am in Manchester and had a meeting with a consultant here and will have the surgery in London, however, instead of it being at the registered Harley Street building, I have been told it will be at a 'Dental surgery' in Fulham. When I questioned this they said it was completely normal and was done as a privacy thing as they have a lot of celeb clients who dont want to be seen coming out of a hair clinic.

 

As far as I can remember it will be FUT, just on the back main area, 2500 grafts, where they take a strip from the back and then implant each individual hair.

 

Does anyone have any views/comments/advice for me?

 

Many thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My advice would be to cancel your appointment. London hair transplant doctors have a terrible reputation.

 

A bad/unnatural hair transplant will be an expensive, painful and embarrassing result.

 

You need to make sure you have a consultation with any potential doctor you see beforehand. You need to establish a hairloss plan by managing your donor hair and considering your future loss. You need to meet up with patients who have had procedures with your doctor.

 

Do you even know what your doctor's name is?

 

Do not trust pictures you see on the clinic's websites.

 

There are a few good clinics in Brussels including the one I went to to repair my first poor hair transplant.

 

A HT is a big decision that will change your life forever. Please take your time and research it properly.

 

Good luck.

 

SR


-----------------------------------------

 

2425 FUE - Dr Armani - Nov 2007 (poor result)

 

1000 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - March 25th 2010 (great result)

 

1599 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - Feb 3rd 2011

 

My Hair Loss Website

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think this is the clinic that has been offering HT's on Groupon. Avoid!!!!


-----------------------------------------

 

2425 FUE - Dr Armani - Nov 2007 (poor result)

 

1000 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - March 25th 2010 (great result)

 

1599 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - Feb 3rd 2011

 

My Hair Loss Website

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Groupon is where did see it, yes. ?1349 for the groupon which I have paid for (worth ?3500) and then an additional ?3000 which I've paid half, this is for 2500 grafts.

 

I must admit doubts have crept in over small things. It's so hard to find good info about these things, and I have tried, which has brought me here.

 

This spelling is probably incorrect but it's apparently a top Austrian surgeon called uls calica???? Anyone have any news on this guy?

 

Thanks for your advice, hopefully more comments will appear which can give me a clear perspective on this.

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, thanks again for your comments, it really has made me think of not rushing into anything. The guys name is Ulf Kienecker.

 

I have been doing research since posting the thread and it seems he is GMC registered:

 

<li class="formlistnopadding">GMC Reference Number7046070<li class="formlistnopadding">Given NamesUlf <li class="formlistnopadding">SurnameKienecker<li class="formlistnopadding">GenderMan<li class="formlistnopadding">StatusRegistered with a licence to practise; this doctor is on the Specialist Register

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if I were you I'd immediately cancel my appointment.there are some of the worst HT doctors in the UK and also in Europe excluding Belgium which has 2 excellent doctors.doing a HT requires alot of research and choosing the best possible doctor.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I purchased a groupon voucher for 500 grafts, when i went to the consultation i was told i would need an extra 1200 grafts, i said i'd think about it. So straight after i went to another consultant who told me that all i needed was 400 grafts in total.

 

I've cancelled my voucher.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the UK, I highly recommend the Farjo Medical Centre. Good luck!


"Doc" Blake Bloxham - formerly "Future_HT_Doc"

 

Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant for the Hair Transplant Network, the Hair Loss Learning Center, the Hair Loss Q&A Blog, and the Hair Restoration Forum

 

All opinions are my own and my advice does not constitute as medical advice. All medical questions and concerns should be addressed by a personal physician.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any HT clinic offering a "Groupon discount" clearly needs you more than you need them ... :eek:

 

Seriously have a word with yourself ;) This is HT SURGERY we are talking about - not a manicure !

Edited by spex

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mate if your based in Manchester then a consult with the Farjos is a no brainer.

But before you do that stick around on this site for a few weeks and have a good look around,educate yourself and dont be afraid to ask questions.

Good guys on here will see you head in the right direction.

But first and foremost cancel your appointment at the dentists.:P


2381 fut Dr Bessam Farjo

2201 fut Dr Bessam Farjo

2000+ fut Dr Bessam Farjo

 

My Hair Loss Website - Hair Transplant with Dr. Bessam Farjo

 

challenge the unchallenged.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I live in London and I hate to say it but the standard of hair transplants in the UK is very very poor. I know that it is a little bit of a pain to travel abroad to have surgery but it is much less of a pain than having to get bad work repaired.

 

Fortunately, there are some good docs in Brussels which is only 2 hours away from London. Well, worth the little bit of extra effort.

 

Personally, there isn't a HT doctor in the UK that I would allow to touch my head.


-----------------------------------------

 

2425 FUE - Dr Armani - Nov 2007 (poor result)

 

1000 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - March 25th 2010 (great result)

 

1599 FUE Procedure with Dr. Bisanga - Feb 3rd 2011

 

My Hair Loss Website

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a narrow escape with the Hospital Group and even lost ?500 deposit...I have absolutely no regrets thinking twice. Travelling half way across the world was a real pain in the a## but looking back, I'm glad I did even though there are some good clinics in Europe and the UK.

 

As many have said before, do not let location dictate your HT and research research research...DO NOT RUSH IN!

 

http://www.hairtransplantnetwork.com/blog/home-page.asp?WebID=1653

Edited by Johnny_B
Typo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hello im in the same situation, i had doubts as soon as I had my consultation. My surgery would be at the Dental clinic and would be with Dr. Ulf Kienecker . I can't find much information about him and have tried contacting Groupon about a refund but their phone lines have been down this week. I sent them an email over a week ago but not heard anything back. Criag when are you booked in for treatment? Have you manageed to get a refund. The groupon advertisement was misleading, it said the treatment would be in Manchester and it said the consultation would be with a qualified practitioner both of these are inaccurate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Avoid this place. I went in there and the guy was a salesman, without even doing a proper analysis he said I needed 1500 grafts. He tried to pressure me in to parting with my money. He refused to give me anytime to think about it and pushed for me to pay a 50% deposit, lucky I did not pay.

He said blatant lies that you are unlikely to get scarring from FUT. Just a really unpleasant experience. He tried to use the fact that they have a room in a building in Harley street which means they are one of the best.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

richart22 thanks for your post. Glad you you were not pressured into anything. had you purchased a voucher through Groupon? Have you been able to get a refund?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

and i get your point about the blatant lies, i said to him that the groupon said surgery would be in Manchester and it was misleading, he said nobody does surgery in Manchester all the dr's are in London. The set up was poor too, he looked at my hair for 30 secs and said it was fine. I managed to get out of him that he was a salesman so i asked him how he was qualified to say whether or not i was suitable for surgery he then said he was a scientist!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Craigd40,

 

I am a UK lad like you. I have received two rubbish HTs in the UK and that's putting it politely.

 

As far as I am aware the only recommended clinic in the UK is Farjo but without knowing your prospective Doc it would be unfair of me to tear strips of him/her.

 

Craig, what concerns me, just as much as your choice, is the fact that you are unsure of the technique and number of grafts. You say,

 

'As far as I can remember it will be FUT, just on the back main area, 2500 grafts' ........

 

Craig, with respect, and I don't want to come across as patronising, technique, approach, design and graft numbers are huge factors in planning your HT. Just as important as choosing the right Doc.

 

Hang in there mate and do more research. This forum is an excellent tool for research. In the UK we are limited to choice. Belgium has three excellent Docs and its only an hour away from Manchester. It's a breeze to hop on the plane from Manchester... and even cheaper from Liverpool (?50 return through Easyjet when I last checked). I have made the journey myself.

 

If you don't research this properly you will become repair patient like me. I am a NW2 with minor hairloss but I have received three poor HTs to date and trust me, being a repair patient isn't fun. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE consult with this forum before you make any decisions.... I wish I had.....

 

Feel free to PM me

 

Jessie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rkh2010, I was in the process of purchasing a group on voucher, but after my consultation, decided not to pursue it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love your reply spex mate, i totally agree with you.

 

I'll simply add - craig (and whoever can relate to him) get a grip ...and fast!!

 

I don't know what it is but i'm becoming a sucker to reading and replying to threads like this, i just can't help myself and in turn waste 10 minutes i should be spending doing more research on all things hairloss.

 

But hey, best of british to my fellow mpb sufferers at whatever stage they're at with their research or nonresearch as the case may be.

 

Regards,

57mph

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Craig,

 

Hopefully you are getting the message. We are all on the same side here.

 

57 ph, if 10 minutes of your time is spent responding to threads like these and preventing another UK victim (like many of us) surely it wouldn't be a waste of your time mate (?)

 

Anyway, I will dip out of this one now in the comfort that Craig has been suitably advised.

 

Jessie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

 

I'd like to thank you all for your comments on this subject. I've been very busy over the last month or so getting together my argument to get my treatment cancelled.

 

All the comments were a really big help and helped me dodge a possible disaster here, appreciate it a lot.

 

So, after a month or so, a lot of info gathering and a long and strongly worded letter, putting across my argument and the reasons I was unhappy the London Hair Transplant Clinic agreed to meet me. I received the full amount refunded back in to my account, maybe I am a lucky case?

 

Drillerfiller, it certainly seems like you went through exactly the same as me. My advice would be to collate any info that has put you off, or made you feel you have been mistreated/misinformed intentionally and write a letter explaining this. I did try a few other avenues but in the eyes of the law they hadn't actually broken any rules, as I had apparently 'not let them complete their side of the deal'. And in the eyes of the law if would have been me 'having second thoughts after not doing proper research' (which a Groupon voucher doesnt let you, as you have to pay on the day) who decided to not continue to the operation.

 

I looked into Ulf and he did seem to have the qualifications, although not one of only a handful of names I saw on websites listing the best drs. And again, I checked up London Hair Transplant Clinic to make sure they were a registered company and did have Harley Street property, they do, but they were only a new company and certain things just didnt seem right for me, the bottom line being told it would take place in a dentist surgery!

 

Again to all who have issues with the groupon, why do they put 'offer valid in Manchester clinic only', very misleading, I mentioned this in my letter. I was defo taken in by the Harley Street location too, until finding out it wouldn't take place there.

 

When I got my refund they asked me to reconsider booking in the future, it was a different young lad, who said people were only over-seeing the Manchester office during his absence, part of the reason it seemed unprofessional, and that they had just moved up which is why it seemed so unprofessional in an empty room with a laptop on a desk for the consultation! But once I had my money I declined politely.

 

I hope you manage to get sorted like I did.

 

Thanks again

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×