Regaine after a transplant.

Hello all, 18 months ago I had a transplant into my crown, alledgedly 2000 grafts. The hair has grown and now looks like as though im thinning in that area rather than completly bald, however I have never been totally happy with the result and of course my surgeon said he would do another one but alas I cannot afford that in this day and age. Anyhow, after seeing an advert on tv about the new Regaine Foam I decided to give that a go, however after recieving it today and checking the websites FAQ's, it states as no study's have been done on anybody who has had a transplant they dont recommend using it. So besides from wasting my money, does anybody have any experience of using Regaine after a transplant or any other different products that work. I would be interested to see what i could do to try and boost what has now grown but without of course having to spend thousands to get it.

Lee

I'm no expert but the hair that was transplanted is healthy hair from the donor site so I don't think that would be affected but the native hair, if any that was left at your crown will more than likely shed after 3 to 4 months but then healthy hair will start to grow a new cycle.

pavlov,

The problem with the crown area (post-terior) is that the surface area is large demanding lots of donor hair. From your words, it sounds like it still appears thinner than you want to see it. But to provide coverage even at 50% of original density will demand lots of grafts.

Were you completely bald in the crown before surgery? How much of the existing crown is natural thinning hair that is not transplanted? If it is less than 25%, minoxidil may not do much to make a visual difference. IMHO, minoxidil increases hair shaft diameter so it can potentially improve the "appearance of coverage" in hair that is losing caliber.

But if your crown is more than 25% natural non-transplant hair, than I think the minoxodil can improve the appearance of coverage.

Gillenator