Donor Shock Loss?

I am 5 weeks post op and am missing a lot of hair around my donor scar... I don't remember it being this bad my first surgery... Is donor shedding normal? It doesn't seem like there's much healthy hair around the scar like there used to be..

Bill,

Shock loss in the donor area is unpredictable. However, it should not been seen as unusual or alarming. Hopefully this short article from our Hair Loss Q&A Blog will put your mind at ease .

Donor Area Hair Loss after Third Hair Transplant Procedure

Best of luck!

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

Absolutely it happens. Attached are 2 pics of a guy we did March 2009. He didn't take valium and was quite nervous as we did the left half of his strip. He bled, I cauterized, and he got a lot of shock around the scar. When I did the right side, he had calmed down, realizing it wouldn't hurt, and he didn't bleed, I didn't cauterize, and he didn't get shock loss. But by 5 months 1 week, his scar was difficult to see anyway.

Dr. Lindsey McLean VA

21.jpg.dc3e0bcc41b6035d7224e0e4a8c19915.jpg

55.jpg.f86480e4358f9283120f5001fa1b0c7a.jpg

56.jpg.51486de9caaee8f05198e0d1b06b6bac.jpg

William H. Lindsey, MD, FACS

McLean, VA

Dr. William Lindsey is a member of the Coalition of Independent Hair Restoration Physicians

In my experience shock loss in the donor area is not that common, but certainly does happen in some isolated cases. I think it is a little more common in females than in male patients. Thankfully, when it does occur the hair usually returns to its normal pre transplanted density in due time.

I am 5 weeks post op and am missing a lot of hair around my donor scar... I don't remember it being this bad my first surgery... Is donor shedding normal? It doesn't seem like there's much healthy hair around the scar like there used to be..