My hair loss experience and first HT

teach77

I won't be redundant since I have posted the basic idea of my story on my profile. I'm 33 years old and had my first HT with Dr. Dorin on 7/20/10. I had been researching hair loss and HTs for several years (this site was a BIG help!) and decided to take the plunge. After consulting with Dr. Dorin in early June, I started taking Propecia in mid-June and scheduled my transplant. We decided on 1500-1600 graft FUT, solely to the frontal 1/3, for a variety of reasons, not least of all the questionability of my further hair loss...my family has a variety of Norwood levels that are pretty inconsistent.

I had a fantastic experience with Dr. Dorin and the staff. From the minute I walked in, everyone was friendly and I was quite comfortable. Dr. Dorin gave me 2 Valium, which was an interesting experience! I was given the remote for the TV and then they began the numbing injections to the donor area. They pinched a bit in some places, but overall it was painless. Dr. Dorin removed the strip, again, pain-free, though I didn't care for the hearing the sounds of the cutting into my scalp (next time earphones may be in order). I was comfortable while I waited and walked TV and some of the staff came in to talk with me and crack some jokes. Dr. Dorin came in and prepped my recipient area as we waited to begin. Lunch came in the meanwhile, so I ate and then we got right to work. The technicians doing the implanting were great! They were friendly and had a comedy routine that was quite amusing. I had absolutely no pain...it sort of felt like I had a helmet on my head, but not uncomfortably so. I watched TV and even dozed off for a bit, while they worked. Throughout the entire process I was asked if I was okay many, many times and if wanted or needed a break, which I did not. When it was over, I watched a video on caring for the hair, Dr. Dorin asked if I had any questions and put my cap on for me, and I left.