I am considering having a HT done in the upcoming month and am trying to figure out if I should go with the strip method or FUE. I had a HT (1800 grafts) done abot 4 years ago and need a repair HT to correct the scar and also to add more to my hairline.

What are the pros and cons of each method?

Who are some good docs for the strip method?

Who are some good docs for the FUE method?

zach,

I'm not an expert of FUE but, as I understand it, the strip method offers the opportunity to harvest more grafts in one session and higher graft survival rate. It is also much more affordable than FUE.

The scars resulting from FUE are very tiny dots that are practically invisible and it is, therefore, very popular with guys who want to wear their hair tightly buzzed. However, under the right conditions, even a linear scar can be practically invisible when buzzed down to 1/4".

You're likely to get a lot of differing views on who's the best doctor. The bottom line is that you can't go wrong with any of the coalition docs.

Best of luck,

TTP

David - Former Forum Co-Moderator and Editorial Assistant

I am not a medical professional. All opinions are my own and my advice should not constitute as medical advice.

View my Hair Loss Website

zach,

The bottom line is that you can't go wrong with any of the coalition docs.

Best of luck,

TTP

this is kinda a naive statement, every doc has unhappy patients , maybe by going to a top doc u have higher possibilities of success, still screw ups do happen, even big ones

The main benefit of FUE is to avoid a strip scar in the first place, but since you have already undergone a strip surgery, and need some repair work on your existing scar, it makes sense to opt for strip again. I don't know the ins and outs of your scar and what the problem is with it, but you'll probably need to re-open it during the repair anyway. If possible (and it isn't always), the repair will be done while taking the new donor strip.